In 2008 Tarquin Blake found his first abandoned ""Big House"" and so began exploring the lost architecture of Ireland. These mansions were built in the mid-eighteenth century onward and were gradually abandoned and forgotten. Here, Blake documents what is left of fifty mansion houses with brief histories and beautiful photographs of the haunting ruins. Included are Mountpelier Lodge (Dublin Hellfire Club), the birthplaces of Daniel O'Connell and the Duke of Wellington, and the one-time homes of Grace O'Malley and the Smithwicks brewing family of Kilkenny. ""A handsome and immensely sensitive study of some of the most haunting and unforgetable mansions ever to have been built in Ireland.""-Irish Voice ""Hauntingly beautiful pictures...accompanied by fascinating historical information""-Irish American News ""`Abandoned Mansions of Ireland' should prove to be an endlessly fascinating coffee table work.""-Midwest Book Review
Country houses, particularly the Great Houses flourished in England and Ireland in the mid-eighteenth century, however, many did not last. The Famine took its toll, tenants could not pay rents and estate owners suffered. When land reforms came into being, many landowners saw ownership transfer directly to their tenants and they were left without land or income. Still later, many of these houses became targets of the IRA during the War of Independence.
Photographer/historian Tarquin Blake explores fifty such abandoned houses around the island with stunning photography and brief histories of the houses. Details from the 1911 census offers a glimpse of the closing days of the aristocracy and makes this oversize coffee table book a treasured peek into a bygone era.
A few of the homes listed in the book include Bellegrove House in County Laois. Roofless, with ivy or creeper growing up its walls and out its glassless windows, the beauty of the 1835 architecture remains, standing in a cornfield. Castlemoyne House looms on the horizon like a skeleton, tall, square with glassless window openings, it, too, covered in creeper. The house, built in 1770, remained inhabited until 1911. By then the remaining family lived in a farmhouse to the rear of the great house. Today, even the farmhouse has been abandoned and only cattle graze the once busy estate.
Seafield House in Sligo sports a vine-encrusted roof jutting over skeletal remains. Originally built in 1759, Seafield House was reconstructed in 1853. In 1940, the house was sold, stripped of its furnishings and roof and abandoned.
Poring over the gorgeous, yet sad, photos is a reminder that splendor never lasts, and nature overtakes the buildings of man. I found Abandoned Mansions of Ireland both fascinating and emotional reading. The photography, black and white and color, profusely embellishes this wonderful volume. A small glossary in the back of the book details many of the periods and terms referred to in the text, also a one-page listing of architectural terms will familiarize the reader with many of the details of ornamentation used in these magnificent structures.